I made it to Australia

We finally got here about 3 weeks ago.

First couple of weeks we were busy buying furniture and cars, but finally have been able to go down to the beach to test out my new Excalibur. I've been out twice now for a total of about 7 hours.

So far I haven't found any gold or silver, but the change adds up a lot quicker down here as there are no notes in Australia smaller than $5 so people carry $1 and $2 coins. I've been out twice and have found just under $17 in change.

It's winter down here right now so not many people in the water. I've just been mostly hunting in the dry sand for now.

They must have had a storm just before we arrived as the beaches have lost tons of sand. I'm not really sure how that affects hunting as I am new to the beach scene.

The beach is an awesome place to hunt and easy to dig. I love it.

Upvote 0
you have an Excal and you are in the dry sand? Id be out in that water in a heartbeat though I think Id get a good wetsuit with the boots ect..there are some really nasty little box jellies around there somewhere that I saw on the Discovery channel or someplace, I dont think they can sting through a wetsuit can they? Im a landlubber but plan to be near the beach in my later years...

A beach is a beach and this site will help you with all you need to know. Good luch with your move and post some pictures of your finds. I'm sure we'll all finf them interesting. http://thegoldenolde.com/
Deepsix

What state are you in, down South you have no worries about Jelly fish. But we do have the odd shark,good luck with your detecting seeya Neilo (South Australia)

Hi Andrew and Neilo,

Great to hear from some guys down here. I was beginning to feel all alone as I have not seen anyone detecting at the beach since I've been here.

I am in Queensland on the Gold Coast.