Im new to collecting cans, and have some questions!

treasurekidd

Bronze Member
Nov 20, 2004
Rhode Island
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm new to collecting cans, and have some questions!

Hi everyone! I am new to saving aluminum cans, and I had a few questions. My state does not have a deposit law, so I won't be turning them in for nickels, just selling them to a local scrapyard.

1. Should I crush the cans to fit more per bag?

2. Should the cans be rinsed out, or is that a waste of time and water?

3. Do you save aluminum food cans (like cat food, etc?) or just drink cans?

4. Do the scrapyards buy steel food cans, and do you save them?

5. What other household items can be saved and sold rather than just given away free to my city's recycling program??

Sorry for so many questions, I'm just trying to learn how to make a few bucks in these increasingly tough times. Thank you all in advance!!

kittywitty

Mar 20, 2008
Washington, DC
Re: I'm new to collecting cans, and have some questions!

Hi Kidd,

My attempt at answers:

1. Yes, that way you can carry more with you and fewer trips save on gas money.
2. I don't rinse my cans.
3. Any aluminum can is good, soda and otherwise
4. I don't save steel cans, but I think others on the board may
5. From my house, it's just cans

Have fun with it and good luck.

KW

davest

Silver Member
Nov 5, 2007
somewhere between here and there, south of over th
Detector(s) used
titan 3000xd/seahunter mk ll/Ace 250/whites 6000XL Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting

crush all aluminum cans so you can put more in small places. If you can find a tossed out trash can or two, use that before puttin them in a bag.(32 gal is great).

steel cans will take a lot of space to make any money off of, better to take the top and bottom off, flatten them and give them to the city. they take up less room that way.