Im New To Scrapping And Have Few Questions

MilitariaCollector

Dec 17, 2008
I'm New To Scrapping And Have Few Questions

I'm new to scrapping and have a few questions:
1) Are the scales at the scrapyard required to be calibrated for accuracy?
2) How is the price per pound for each type of metal determined by the scrapyard? How often does that change (daily, weekly, etc)?
3) Does having larger pieces of certain metals (like aluminum, etc) make them more valuable, or it just goes completely by weight?
4) is there a list or chart of the classifications of each types of metals (some metal, like copper have numbers like #1 or #2)

OP
OP
M

MilitariaCollector

Dec 17, 2008
Re: I'm New To Scrapping And Have Few Questions

Forgot a few more....
5) Is it better to strip the insulation off of wires or leave it on?
6) Does the the size of the wire matter, or are all wires classified the same?

Frank1960

Nov 13, 2009
Evans Colorado
Detector(s) used
AT Max

1) Are the scales at the scrapyard required to be calibrated for accuracy? Don't know
2) How is the price per pound for each type of metal determined by the scrapyard? How often does that change (daily, weekly, etc)? they go by the dow on metal prices I think
3) Does having larger pieces of certain metals (like aluminum, etc) make them more valuable, or it just goes completely by weight? by weight
4) is there a list or chart of the classifications of each types of metals (some metal, like copper have numbers like #1 or #2) some sites show what each size is but not their prices
5) Is it better to strip the insulation off of wires or leave it on? I strip the thick or solid wire the wire like from small appliances, extention cords and other smaller sized wire I just leave the insulation on
6) Does the the size of the wire matter, or are all wires classified the same? it's not really the size as the type I think

hobo finds

Mar 15, 2010