Initial field review of White’s Matrix M6

Massbaycolonist

Apr 15, 2006
Massachusetts
I have had my M6 for almost a month now. I got the M6 for an excellent deal.
I paid less for the new detector than you might suspect. I got a free set of new Whites earphones included in the deal. I bought the M6 in the middle of February during a Winter Sale. With respect to White’s Electronics, and the dealer, it is best that I share with you my dealers’ store and location, rather than the price I paid for the M6.
My dealer is George Streeter at Streeter’s Electronics, Marlborough, N.H.
http://www.streeter.org/community/
[email protected]
George is not only a great guy, but he’s also a terrific international treasure hunter. He is totally immersed in treasure hunting. In addition to his great shop, he writes and publishes a treasure newspaper (Which I got a free subscription to when I bought my M6), sponsors treasure hunting trips and trade shows, and he’s an officer of a New England treasure hunting organization. George is especially helpful after the sale, as he emails his customers with helpful treasure hunter information. I only mention my experience with my dealer because I think for many people, knowing dealer and customer service reputation is important when considering which brand of detector to purchase.
I detect at fresh and salt-water beaches only. I search for jewelry, although if I got a “lock-on” signal for a quarter or half-dollar I would probably dig it up. I have approximately 30 hours of experience searching with the M6. I have gone to two salt-water beaches (one two times), and one fresh water beach, for a total of four outings.
My new M6 was already assembled by the time I arrived at the store, so I can’t tell how hard or easy assembling the detector is. The owners’ manual has lots of clear directions with diagrams and pictures on assembling the detector, so I think assembly should be easy.