Is this obsidian??

Crumb

Feb 9, 2020
Mountains of East K.y.
Detector(s) used
Garrett 400 ace
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I 619A8A25-87F6-4D43-B569-C815CC5888B9.jpeg wanted to get the opinions of this piece of what y’all think it is. Background,an old friend of mine gave me this cause he knew I collected points and stuff . He said he found it in his watermelon patch in his garden on the banks of the Kentucky river. Its translucent,I can make out a couple tiny bubbles inside the piece. My concerns is I’ve been collecting arrowheads and tools from this region for 25 years and have never seen another piece of worked glass or obsidian and it’s dull not sharp enough to cut, or is that normal for being in the ground for thousands of years moving around with the thaw freeze action of the ground.If it is obsidian how in the world did it get in south eastern ky.

Upvote 0

cavedude

Feb 2, 2020
Simi Valley
Detector(s) used
gold bug
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
California knapper. Yep Sure looks like it. If you found it in the wild it was probably traded in from the west? Unusual?

OP
OP
C

Crumb

Feb 9, 2020
Mountains of East K.y.
Detector(s) used
Garrett 400 ace
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I never found it myself one of my buddies found it and gave it to me. Any artifact that I don’t pick up from the earth myself goes in another box.lol cause I know what I dig up and find are genuine I guess.thanks for your reply man

dirstscratcher

Mar 8, 2019
N.C. Ohio
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
The Hopewell made a few large ceremonial blades out of black obsidian. It's not common to find utility blades from obsidian, but they probably didn't let smaller waste flakes go to waste.

Jim in Idaho

Silver Member
Jul 21, 2012
Blackfoot, Idaho
Detector(s) used
White's GM2, GM3, DFX, Coinmaster, TDI-SL, GM24K, Falcon MD20, old Garrett Masterhunter BFO
'Way Too Cool' dual 18 Watt UV light
Primary Interest:
Prospecting