Looking in North Georgia

dalec911

May 17, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi ya all,
I'm Dale and I'm new to the form. Be gentle on the nooby. I live in Florida, the only state in the lower 48 that doesn't have gold!! I've done a little panning (enough to get the bug) in Arizona, where I found some flake and one nice picker. Also did some panning in CA, but only found fools gold. I've panned around Dahlonega a couple years ago, but didn't find anything. Last year I went to the Uwharrie national forest, but I didn't fine anything but a little dust.

I'm planning on heading back up there in a month or so and I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions either around Dahlonega or the Uwharrie national forest. I've googled and googled and have an area to try, but any help would be appreciated.

Thanks for any help or suggestions and Good hunting!

Upvote 0

B H Prospector

Feb 2, 2010
Black Hills, South Dakota
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi Dale and welcome.
Get ahold of a fella called Astrobouncer here in the forum. He is from that general area of the country, georgia, north carolina etc and would be very helpful to you I think. He know alot about the geology out there and places to go.

Good Luck!

BH Prospector

goldhog

May 14, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Georgia is tough as most of the gold here is fine and deep. You'll do a BUNCH of panning usually before you see any color.
Also, keep in mind that almost all the NF areas are handtrowel and pan only. No sluices or even shovels.
WMA areas (Wildlife Management Areas) are off limits to anything. They bleed into the NF sometimes.
You can start at Gold N Gems and work their dirt. It's dug on site and contains some fine gold and good gems.
Then start working out from there.
Doc

GoldFracture

Greenie
May 24, 2013
Tennessee/ Idaho
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting