NC Newbie Seeks Your Opinions

AFterBurn

Greenie
Jan 17, 2020
N.C.
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Intro of a total Novice

Hey all, new member from N.C. and from what I’ve already researched, it seems this is a special place! I very recently discovered gold on my property, and have begun the process of panning and filtering manually. However the gold ranges (so far) from flakes to fines to dust. I sometimes cannot tell what is sand and what’s gold until it dries. I’ve got vids and pics that may help visualize and communicate more effectively... how/where can I post them? Btw: The gold is about a foot deep, mostly stuck amongst a foot-thick sandy layer of gravel that is located between two layers of dense red clay. Have only dug to the second clay layer so far but I’m curious if there’s any possibility of finding larger nuggets etc in this sort of landscape, or if I should get a detector. This area perhaps was an dried riverbed from long ago, clearly as it’s a lawn now. Any help from anyone with such experience in this area would be a good place to start. Looking forward to learning and growing here! Thanks in advance for any private messages or replies!

OP
OP
AFterBurn

AFterBurn

Greenie
Jan 17, 2020
N.C.
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Hello and thanks for stopping by! I recently discovered gold of my properly last week, and would like help on how to proceed. I’ve got pictures/video of the type of gold I’m finding which is mostly Flakes fines and micro. I’ve done an acid test to confirm it’s gold and now need help with well everything from here forward but especially with filtering out the gold. Is anyone else prospecting in North Carolina? That stuff I am finding is stuck in a thick silty and sandy layer between two thick layers of clay, which also contain gold. About 1 foot down from surface is the sandy layer, which is also a about a foot thick. Any help or advice would be great as well as how to post the pictures and videos. Thanks in advance!

OP
OP
AFterBurn