Need help to identfiy please. 8 Reale where from and year?

finding

Aug 20, 2011

Attachments

• 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    110.2 KB · Views: 583
  • 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    147 KB · Views: 584
I'm no expert, but I've enjoyed studying this piece and have come to some conclusions. Based on the Cross of Jerusalem and the Hapsburg shield, I would place the time during Philip IV. The mintmark is off the planchet but Potosi is the most commonly encountered of this type. Looking closer, the assayer mark is clear with a stylized curved leg of the "R". I would decipher the mark as that of Pedro Trevino. He served at various times so it is more difficult to peg a year. Also, he used a "TR" as an assayer mark. I'm attributing the missing "T" as missing the planchet. Looking closer at the Lions in the quandrant of the cross, they might be attributed with a "fuller" or "furry" appearance placing the production of the 8 reale beginning in the 40's. Pedro Trevino served from 1643 - 1647.

It is my best quess, but wait for others to chime in.

Hi all,

The story I got about this coin was that it was purchased from Mel Fisher before he found the Atocha. It wasn’t pulled out of the ocean but it is an example of a circulated coin of its era. It is in pretty good shape and an excellent example of how they made coins in that time. I’ve had this coin a few years and am actually thinking of selling it. I guess my next question is what might be the value of it and who would be interested in purchasing it? Much thanks to Treasure Net and all the fine people for your help.

Finding