NEED INPUT MInElab Explorer SE or AT Pro? New Comer!

Byrdboys

Tenderfoot
Dec 8, 2016
OK
Detector(s) used
My newest Minelab Equinox 600 Love it!
Teknetics Omega 800
teknetics Delta 4000
Garrett 350
Bounty Hunter lone star
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I'm fairly new at this MD. My first detector BH Lone Star. Got it few yrs back just started using it last year. Found my first Merc Dime I was hooked along with my 4 boys! This year we bought a used Garrett 350 been finding clad & few old coins, bullets, etc. We found a Delta 4000 at pawn shop for $75. It's been a nice addition found more clad no silver yet. We Love how it works but go to G 350 at times. We normal use both machines and compare ID numbers & tones, etc. I have recently found a Minelab Explorer SE being sold by older man. He bought 5 yrs ago took it out about 5 times then had heart trouble now not able to MD any more due to health. He will take $400. I see its $1280 on Amazon new. What is others thoughts on this MD? Would this be an upgrade for myself & Boys? Is it worth 400? I've read Minelab no longer makes it discounted.
I'm trying to make Decision on Minelab E SE or Garrett AT Pro. I would like input from both sides Garrett & Minelab users. I really have about 500 or so to spend no more than that. Thanks for input! I'm willing to learn & look forward to finding great coins & other relics!

AT Pro would be a mistake...:occasion14:That SE is a great buy.

I've seen sandman posting about at pros and on one of his posts it was obvious he didn't use one for very long since he didn't know how the controls worked.

I have both machines. I've got thousands of hours in with the Garrett's (I've got both the at pro and at gold) and about 80 to 100 hours in with the Minelab SE Pro.
I'll take the AT Pro out every time over the SE. I just don't like the minelab.
I do agree that $400 for the SE is a smokin' deal. Be prepared to go extremely slow with the SE, and a learning curve for sure.