Need some help

DigEmAll

Aug 29, 2005
Eastern UP, Michigan
I am new to gold country and haven't got a clue. I have found an old prospector's cabin in the upper areas of the mountains. He has three mines and about five test digs that I have found so far. If he spent his life there, and could afford enough TNT to make that many holes, he had to be finding something! Right? Anyway, I was wondering if anyone here can tell me what to look for while I am out detecting for relics. What are the indicators that I should be looking for? I don't even know if my detector will find a nugget smaller than a BB, so this is going to be a hands and knees job!

I found these rocks today up there... anyone know what the colors are indicitive of? Also found this copper nugget, but don't think that it came from this immeadiate area. But you should have seen my eyes when I picked it up after my detector hit it! Oh what could have been......

Attachments

• Nugget.JPG
    Nugget.JPG
    9.1 KB · Views: 618
  • Rock.JPG
    Rock.JPG
    121.8 KB · Views: 638
  • Nugget.JPG
    Nugget.JPG
    9.1 KB · Views: 636

aussco999

Dec 25, 2003
Texas
The ore looks like a combination of malachite and azurite to me.

Both minerals are a copper carbonate. Malachite has an emerald to a dark green color, a hardness of about 4, a perfect cleavage, S.G. near 4, and a light green color on a streak plate. Azurite is about the same with the exception of a two directional cleavage, and a blue color on a steak plate.

Both minerals considered a secondary copper ore, normally in association with limonite and chalcopyrite. I doubt that the long-ago miner was looking for gold (as it is normally very disseminated in these types of copper ores), as much as he was looking for a large copper ore deposit.