New Detector Today: Find From One Hour Hunt Nearly Covers Price.

FoundInNC

Mar 20, 2012
Mebane, North Carolina
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Gold and AT Pro
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
*****Photos are UP!*******

I decided today to run to town and buy the Garrett AT Pro. I have been putting it off for a few months, but I have found that it is a far better machine than the AT Gold, which I have been running for nearly a year now. I went straight home and got my gear and headed out to a homesite that I have killed with two other detectors. I detected for one hour and found some great stuff, the best of which was my 67th Bingham School button. This one has the Civil War period transitional Scovill MFG CO backmark! Unfortunately some kid had to pop a square nail right through the center of it, you can see the shank was still attached when he did it. This particular "Confederate" button does not have a set value because so few exist. I have heard of others selling for $400 range, nice to find a big portion of what I spent on the detector in my first hour digging. I am trying to dig as many different types as possible, and catalog each kind. About 5 feet away, yesterday, I dug my oldest coin on that particular site, an 1864 no "L" indian head!(It, too had a hole in it, like the button from today. Interesting to find two holed items from the same time period in the same location) My other finds from today were a STERLING cuff link, a buffalo nickel, a couple brass valve keys, and a lead bag seal. The cuff link is marked STERLING and WB in a diamond. The hallmark is for Wachenheimer Bros. which began in 1907 in Rhode Island, and their work is highly collectible. I love my new detector. It is DEEP. I strongly recommend the AT Pro.
33moksz.jpg

ndr9zc.jpg

vsdfdw.jpg

m7w6fq.jpg

hx50ky.jpg

6svyuq.jpg

308w1g6.jpg

348hwrd.jpg

Last edited:
Upvote 3

HutSiteDigger

Silver Member
Nov 26, 2012
Stafford,Virginia
Detector(s) used