New or Grandpa

BigandRichman

Nov 27, 2011
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I posted this on the main board and didn't have much luck. It was suggested I post it here

I'm a newbie. Been browsing the forum for several days looking for advice. I've never detected before. Decided to start. I face the following decision (which I am seeking your thoughtful input on): knowing I am seeking/looking for old US coins on dirt in the Midwest, am I better off purchasing a new ACE 250 or purchasing a Teknetics Delta 4000 from grandpa. Grandpa purchased it last year and drives a hard bargin. Consequently, either purchase would cost about the same. Your help much appreciated.

cyerby

Greenie
Dec 3, 2010
kansas
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have been detecting for a couple of years now. I started with the ACE250 and it is a decent starter. I found many clad coins, a silver or two and plenty of rings including some gold. It didn’t take long though, and I was ready for an upgrade. I really wanted better audio and numeric target ID. If at all possible, I would recommend the AT PRO. You can leave it in standard mode and it will act much like the ACE250. When you are ready, you can switch over to pro mode to get even more info from the detector. Plus, it’s water proof to 10 feet so you have no worries in the rain and snow or even in the lake. Call American detector distributors and tell them craig Yerby sent you. He is a great guy and will hook you up no matter which unit you choose.

Smudge

Bronze Member
Jul 9, 2010
Central Florida
Detector(s) used
A Propointer tied to a stick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
The two machines are pretty comparable in price and performance. If you buy Grandpa's I do not think you get his warranty anymore.

So if the cost is identical, I'd get a new Ace 250.

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used