New to the hobby

K

kestrel0222

Hi,

I am new to this hobby and have been doing a lot of research on which MD to purchase for my first machine. I am considering the (3) following machines:

Bounty Hunter Quick Draw II - $200.00
Garrett Ace 250 - $210.00
Whites Prizm III - $300

I’m sure this type of question has been asked many times, but I am not sure which is the better machine. After looking at the specs of these (3) machines, they appear to be about the same, feature for feature.

So, putting the features aside, which machine is better in terms of ease of use, depth, and quality?

I will be using this detector on fresh water beaches (dry sand) and grass parks.

Thanks to all for your input,

Tom

khouse

Dec 6, 2006
I don't know about the BH.

But the features are not even close on the other two. The 250 has 12 segments of discrimination -P3 has 8. 250 has a true selective notch - p3 does not. 250 is muti tone -p3 does not. 250 has 3 coils - p3 has 2. 250 runs on AA batteries -p3 runs on expensive 9 volts (2 of them) . 250 is $100.00 less than the p3. Take that money and buy a Sniper coil and $20.00 Headphones.
The p3 is a good detector but it's just not in the same class as the 250.

drver

Sep 24, 2006
Wilmington, N.C.
Detector(s) used
Ace 250
Search around a bit and you’ll find the Ace will come with 5 free gifts, digger, head phones, find pouch etc.

Phantasman

Gold Member
Nov 24, 2006
NE Tennessee
Detector(s) used
Nokta Simplex, Land Ranger Pro, Quick Draw Pro, Deteknix XPointer
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Been there, done that.

BH is a Walmart type. Does the job, but there's better.

You can't go wrong with White's or Garrett's, and the others appeared to me to be for more experienced hunters.

I just bought the Ace 250. It does a lot more than the Whites, for the price.

If you are going to buy online, http://www.detection.com/garrett/ace250.html

Sean has a great dealer record.