obtaining permission to hunt on private property

boonedel24

Dec 5, 2016
Detector(s) used
Garrett ACE 250, and Garrett AT Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi! I'm new to the this group and forum. I've been metal detecting for about 5 years now and have had pretty good luck on public land, such as city parks, ballfields, fairgrounds, and other places similar to these. I was just wondering if anyone in this group has a special way of asking permission for private property, i. e., house yards, farm yards, abandoned farm buildings, or any other private land. Is there a special wording you use to ask for such permission? I have read that you just don't come out and say, "Can I hunt on your property for lost coins?" because that usually gets a negative response. I was just wanting to find a much more suttle way to gain permission without making the landowner suspicious about your intentions. I thought I would just ask," May I have your permission to metal detect on your property to see what I can find of historical artifacts?" Any suggestions anyone has would be appreciated. I have seen many good possible sites on private property and I just wanted to get a good reputation of being a conscientious metal detectorist. Thank you for any help you may give. --boonedel24

Silver Member
Dec 10, 2004
East Central Kentucky
First things first...welcome to Treasurenet! This is how I approach asking for permission....

1. Dress nice, well groomed.

2. Introduce myself, first and last name and where I'm from. Drop names of mutual acquaintances if any.

3. Explain that I've researched the property and ask if the land owner would be interested in lost/buried objects.

4. If land owner says yes, I then ask about using a metal detector. I also ask land owner if he/she would like to join in, I always bring an extra detector.