✅ SOLVED Old or new hook??? Is this lead shot?????

Nini1965

Greenie
May 7, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I dug these two items up from a depth of approx. 12 inches. Both items are from Eastern Ontario, Canada and the field was used for cattle grazing, farming etc. I have no idea what the hook item is. Could it be a suspender hook or some fencing hook?
The other item is I believe lead shot. It was oxidized white, not corroded. It's quite heavy ..... Any input would be greatly appreciated! I am just a beginner at metal detecting .....
Hook.jpg Lead Shot.jpg

TheCannonballGuy

Gold Member
Feb 24, 2006
Occupied CSA (Richmond VA)
Detector(s) used
White's 6000, Nautilus DMC-1, Minelab
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
Your lead ball is "somewhat" out-of-round, which makes it difficult to measure with precise accuracy. That being said, the ruler in your photo indicates the ball's diameter is approximately .36-inch.

It shows no rifling-marks from being fired out of an 1840s-or-later pistol (such as, an early Colt .36 revolver). So, if it is indeed a Firearms projectile, it is either a fired pistolball from a pre-1840s smoothbore .36 pistol, or a 000-gauge buckshot from a more recent time-period. The numerical odds favor the latter... every 000 shotgun shell ever fired in the past 150 years had about a dozen .36" balls in it, whereas pre-1840s smoothbore .36 pistols were rare, and they fired only one ball at a time.

Upvote 0
OP
OP
N

Nini1965

Greenie
May 7, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thank you very much for the information. I have learnt a great deal. Much appreciated :-)

Upvote 0

BosnMate

Gold Member
Sep 10, 2010
Detector(s) used
Whites MXT, Whites DFX, Whites 6000 Di Pro
Primary Interest:
Other