On my way to Galveston Beach

OutBack Duo

Apr 21, 2005
Olathe, KS
Detector(s) used
Minelab SE PRO
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I got my New Surfmaster PI Plus detector the beginning of last month and now finally work is sending me to Houston for the week. Because I am from Kansas City this will be my first attempt at beach hunting. I am looking for any advice and also any known good areas down around the Houston area. The only Beaches I have ever heard about near Houston is Galveston so thats where I plan on going unless someone can steer me somewhere else. Anyone on here live near Galveston that would like to show a T-Netter the ropes in the water? I would greatly appreciate any advice and recommendations. I will be arriving Friday night 8/11/06 and have the weekend to do what ever I want. Hope to hear from everyone.

Upvote 0
OBD,

best of luck on your trip, hope you
find something really wonderful.

Someday, I want to have the chance to
check out Galveston.

have a good un...........

one more question, is there any way to predict when the surf will be calm?

Hey OD - I'm in Houston and, as a matter of fact, Justin75790 and I are planning to hit Galveston on Saturday or Sunday. The plans aren't finalized but we should know what we're going to do by Friday night. There are many beach areas, but the busiest are Stewart Beach and East Beach. If you want to hook up, let me know and I'll PM my phone number, etc.

Here's a Galveston web cam site, including Stewart Beach...

http://www.galveston.com/webcams/

Here's a tide predictor site (looks like low tides very early in the morning and late in the afternoon for the weekend)...

http://scilib.ucsd.edu/sio/tide/

Check the weather for the weekend...the surf is easiest to hunt when there is wind blowing from north to south.

HH!
TBGO