Safari Help - Rev War Permission

scrapmagnet

Sep 18, 2023
PA
Detector(s) used
Minelab Safari
I have been working a permission off and on for about 9 months. About 10 acres and loaded with iron. The site has been occupied since the 1730's, has had both Colonial and British military occupation. Although I am very happ with the artifacts that I have found, the earliest coin found was an 1865 (Indian Head). Next oldest 1898 (Quarter). I did find many wheats, two merc dimes, four indian heads, five buffalo nickels, two dandy buttons, a roached pewter button, misc flat buttons and a close group of nine early/mid 1800's buttons. I also found one lead ball and a few pieces of camp lead. There has been a fair bit of ground disturbance around the house.

Not one coin earlier that 1865 has been found (not even a smooth suspect). With the volume of other small items, this just seems odd to me. I am using a Safari. I know that it is an older unit and I have never really measured my deepest find. Pure hits are rare due to hundreds of years of trash and a seemingly endless scattering of corroded iron. A good bit of foil, shotgun shells and copper shards add to the fun.

Could the older coins, being heavier and having more time, sunk below the range of my Safari?
I am getting better at picking up partially masked items (almost all have been) and going by tones, but 99% of what I dig seems to be false due to nearby iron.

Does anyone run a Safari and has a setup or tips that they could share. I have played with the sensitivity (17 seems provide the best results) all of the modes and I swing slow.

Upvote 1

pepperj

Gold Member
Feb 3, 2009
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Deus, Deus 2, Minelab 3030, E-Trac,
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting