Silver Reale identification

2krafty

Dec 9, 2020
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am a student at SUNY Maritime researching a coin in my possession. My father tells me it was found near the Cayman islands, i did some research and believe it is a Spanish Colonial Silver Reales Coin(Pillar type) If anybody can help with a possible shipwreck it would be found on it would be greatly appreciated.

IMG-0666.jpg IMG-0665.jpg

gunsil

Silver Member
Dec 27, 2012
lower hudson valley, N.Y.
Detector(s) used
safari, ATPro, infinium, old Garrett BFO, Excal, Nox 800
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Why do you think it came from a shipwreck?? These are found dropped on the ground in many states and countries. You don't list the size so hard to tell what denomination it is. Interesting setting for sure.

Upvote 0
OP
OP

2krafty

Dec 9, 2020
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
My father said he bought at an auction and it was found on a shipwreck, sadly he lost the certificate of authenticity.

Upvote 0

Red-Coat

Gold Member
Dec 23, 2019
Surrey, UK
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome to Tnet.

No way of knowing where this came from unless you can find the documentation that came with it, or can retrieve the auction record.

Nevertheless, it’s ‘Charles and Joanna’ coinage of Mexico City, which divides into “Early Series (1536-1542)” and “Late Series (1542-1571)” based on major design changes arising from the arrival of all-new dies from Spain. Yours is Late Series.

The L / oM on the left / right of the shield is for the assayer (Luis Rodriguez) / mint (Mexico City). Rodriguez assay then divides into two periods: c1547-c1553 and c1554-1569, with the later period having a cruder style of engraving and generally struck on planchets with more variable thickness and roundness. Yours looks to be from that later period (consistent with the style of the design).