Silver Umax Review Part IV

SaginawIan

Jun 1, 2006
Detroit, Michigan
Detector(s) used
Fisher F75, Tesoro Tejon, Tesoro Mojave.
I will start out by saying, WOW! I underestimated the depth of this machine and I continue to be amazed at it's discrimination and ability to separate targets from junk. I'm not sure if I'm just learning the machine, or what, but this time out it was truly amazing!

I went to a riverbank where the water level was very low, exposing lots of the river bottom. I spent about 2 hours there. Among the trash items to be expected - just about anything including bikes, car parts, tire rims, etc, cans, nails, pull tabs . . . What I'm trying to say, it is quite possibly the worst metal detecting conditions imaginable. Also, with wet sand to boot - I was unsure how the silver would react. I took along my DFX b/c I expected the ground balance to be out of whack on the Silver, which is preset.

Well, not only did the Silver remain stable, it attained depth on targets that I haven't seen in it yet. With sensitivity at between 7-10, and disc above iron, I dug pennies at 9-10" !!! I dug lead sinkers at 12" I suppose the wet soil/sand really had alot to do with it. I dug approximately 60 holes and nearly 75% were good targets! I did dig some large iron pieces that fooled this detector, but not many. Despite hunting in miserable conditions, this Silver performed very well, and I became more confident in it. Before it was all said and done, I had dug 10 wheat pennies, 40 pieces of fishing tackle, a smoking pipe, many clad, and some type of dog tag. This was one THE BEST ratio of good targets to junk dug in my years of metal detecting. I have no doubt it had everything to do with this discrimination, which is as accurate as can be. I left the site feeling like I didn't miss any targets. I was a happy hunter.