Texas Highway Rest Areas - Is Metal Detecting Allowed?

TxCacheHunter

Sep 23, 2008
San Antonio, Texas Near Sea World
Detector(s) used
Whites MXT and Garrett 2500
I'm new to the hobby and know Texas State Parks are not allowed, but was wondering about Rest Areas along Texas highways. Obviously some are on roads with little traffic, but at rest areas along interstate highways it would be good to know if its legal. I'm going to guess its not, because state parks aren't allowed, but thought I would ask.

HH
TxCacheHunter

sqwaby

Apr 13, 2008
I believe all state land unless otherwize posted or on notice is ok. Better get a big sack for all those tabs and can slaw.

myelo1023

Jul 14, 2008
The Woodlands, Texas
Detector(s) used
Equinox 800, Garrett pinpointer
TxCacheHunter said:
I'm new to the hobby and know Texas State Parks are not allowed, but was wondering about Rest Areas along Texas highways. Obviously some are on roads with little traffic, but at rest areas along interstate highways it would be good to know if its legal. I'm going to guess its not, because state parks aren't allowed, but thought I would ask.

HH
TxCacheHunter

I'm not convinced it is simply because my nephew (Shaw) tried to hunt one at the beach and they ran him off...but then again, it may have been attached to a park also. I'm not sure. He would have the details on that one.

Old Dog

Gold Member
May 22, 2007
Western Colorado
I would research it a bit more before I went out and got busted.
In many States the rest areas are cleaned and maintained by the State parks department.

This may mean a serious NO.
Be smart and check.

OP
OP
TxCacheHunter

TxCacheHunter

Sep 23, 2008
San Antonio, Texas Near Sea World
Detector(s) used
Whites MXT and Garrett 2500
I'm hoping someone will jump in here that has asked and received an answer or knows who to call. I would guess that its not allowed, but would like to know for sure or where to look or call to find out.

Thanks!
Larry
TxCacheHunter

Old Fart in TN