Waves reveal new wreck at Fort Morgan, Alabama

MichaelB

Aug 13, 2005
Mobile Bay, Alabama
New mystery shipwreck surfaces at Fort Morgan (photos, video) | AL.com

This is not the wreck that is at Cortez street that there has been so much talk about. This new one is 3 miles west of the Cortez wreck. I have documented that wreck. Look at the pictures and see what you think. A barge maybe?

At least it is something new to go check out.

Merry Christmas.

MichaelB

huntsman53

Gold Member
Jun 11, 2013
East Tennessee
Primary Interest:
Other
Thanks for posting the information and link to the pics! I am not an expert on ships and I definitely could be wrong but it doesn't appear to be a Barge to me. The portion with the portholes on top appear to be one side of a ship which is laying on top of the main structure. Is is possible that it was a Ferry or even Paddleboat Steamer??

Frank

Last edited:

bay pirate

Aug 26, 2012
Mobile Bay
Detector(s) used
Whites MXT Pro
I looked at it yesterday. It looks like it floated in and sat down with the tides. I wish we had the water quality like BVI and St Kitts plus a third of the bull sharks

OP
OP
MichaelB

MichaelB

Aug 13, 2005
Mobile Bay, Alabama
It is funny that you should mention a paddleboat. There are the remains of an old paddleboat 20 miles east of this position. When a big storm rolls in and you can stand in what is left of the paddle wheel in less than 20 fet of water. I wonder if something finally broke loose. Pirate you are correct, this area is bull shark heaven. It is amazing how many I see while fishing around Dixie Bar.

bay pirate

Aug 26, 2012
Mobile Bay
Detector(s) used
Whites MXT Pro