What detector should I buy?

brazilian

Greenie
Mar 27, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello guys! I'm hunting for a buried treasure about 25 years ago and I need help finding the right metal detector model for what I need.

What I'm going to look for are family jewels that I believe are in some packaging measuring approximately 30cm x 40cm is probably buried to a depth that certainly does not exceed 1m.

The land where I will search has many ancient materials such as yarns, cans, etc. The land has many trees and the soil of the place is clay.

I have something around 1500USD of budget and I would like tips of good brands and models more suitable for this demand. Any help is welcome. Thank you in advance !!!

Enviado de meu SM-G935F usando Tapatalk

Tpmetal

Silver Member
Jan 4, 2017
Western ny
Detector(s) used
equinox 800, Whites mx sport, Garrot carrot, bounty hunter time ranger
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm no expert but I would just get a pi machine and dig every single signal I found.

Geobound

Feb 21, 2017
Ontario
Detector(s) used
XP Deus (2019)
Fisher CZ-21 (2019)
CTX 3030 (April 2017)
AT Pro
Garrett Carrot
Pro Pointer
Stavr Scoop Moonstrik 6
Stealth 720i (BNIB)
Home made beach scoop
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
3' is a long way down, but the size of the container would help.

If the container is made of metal, combined with the contents.......then a lot of detectors should be able to get that large of an object to beep.

Is this just a one time hunt, and once you are done you're finished hunting?

Do you have a large area of land to hunt?

Are you certain of the area in which it is buried?

Depending on your answers you could likely rent some equipment/people to search an area for you, and you wouldn't have to go through the learning curve of a metal detector.

If this however is more of a hunt and peck sort of thing, then that would change my answer.