What next? Getting Permission

wassermj

Apr 5, 2017
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm very new to metal detecting and so far have only hit a few schoolyards and one old homestead in the woods but I've been doing lots of research. I finally found a property about an hour from me where there were random finds of gold coins over the course of almost a decade-- nothing huge but enough to make me think there may be more. I've been able to locate the current site of the property which is still partially standing and the current owner. I've got a phone number and even a facebook profile. Unfortunately I also have the personality equivalent of a minor rash- bothersome but easily ignored. I have no idea how to approach this woman or what to say and this for me has been the most difficult part of metal detecting. Do I show all my cards right away or do I just tell her that I think her lot may have been the site of some historical activity and worth checking out? Do I offer her a percentage up front? I'm just thinking if a stranger reached out to me and asked to metal detect on my land, what would my reaction be (the door couldn't shut fast enough). If it were closer, I think I'd risk knocking on the door (and maybe bring my youngest kid to up my likability) but like I said, it's a long haul just to get turned away. Any advice before I blow it would be greatly appreciated.
-Jamie

Upvote 0

eman1000

Feb 24, 2016
Elizabethtown, IN
Detector(s) used
XP Deus ORX, Etrac, F75, Simplex, MX5, V3i, Equinox, Tesoro Vaq, F22
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
At an hour drive I would find two or three other locations you could fall back on if she says no just to make the trip somewhat worth the effort.

I would go with a direct approach. Dress decent & leave all your stuff in your car/truck walk up to the door and politely ask permission. I usually knock and then step back at least 3 to 4 feet where I can easily be seen.

Rehearse what you want to convey..something like