Whats a good 12v battery for a highbanker?

Wayson

Tenderfoot
Feb 13, 2015
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
What's a good 12v battery for a highbanker?

Hey all! I've been sluicing and panning for about five years now, but I'm finally looking at getting a highbanker. Right now I'm looking at the Gold Buddy Mini, because it's small enough to be portable by myself with no help, and because it can be made into a recirculating system pretty easily with a 10 gal tub.

Thing is, I've never run a highbanker before (ever), and I can count on the fingers of one hand how many times I've even seen one operating. So I'm unfamiliar with the power requirements for one. The Gold Buddy Mini that I'm looking at apparently can run off anything 12v, so I'm wondering if anyone here had advice or a personal anecdote about which battery might be best for this. Should I just go to Wal Mart and browse the aisles for any old 12v battery? Or is there one that has a longer life while not costing an arm and a leg?

On a similar note, is it possible to recharge a 12v, and if so... how? I could see running a highbanker getting mighty expensive if every couple hours I had to swap out to a brand new battery.

Thanks for any help or advice!

russau

Gold Member
May 29, 2005
St. Louis, missouri
of course you can recharge a 12vdc battery! the type you want will determine how long (during the day) you want to run material. deep cycles are the best but more expensive and heavier. and being heavy will determine how far you want to drag this to the stream.I always used a old car battery , but I use my ATV to haul my equipment. but now I just dredge (depending on how my back feels!)

OP
OP
W

Wayson

Tenderfoot
Feb 13, 2015
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Yeah, if I could dredge I would in a heartbeat, but I'm (temporarily for the next several years) trapped in California, which has banned dredging to the best of my knowledge. :S