White's Treasuremaster - am I doing something wrong?

Sir Publius

Oct 20, 2016
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm brand new to metal detecting. I bought a White's Treasuremaster a few days ago, and have used it for a two days straight on my folks old farmstead from 1840. I've been looking for coins and haven't found ONE!!!! I've found a few old axe heads, old hammer, a button, few ammo casings, part of a an old pioneer stove, lots of chunks of steel/farm machinery pieces, lot of old and current pipes (water/electrical etc.), a lot of coke cans, pull tabs, some bottle caps, and lots of other trash, but not ONE...ONE coin!

I have my Treasuremaster set on the coins and jewelry mode, at mid sensitivity, maybe a little past mid, and the discrimination default only is set to block out iron. I don't know too much about metal detectors, but this baby does seem to go DEEP. I've dug quite a few holes where it seemed a foot or more where the item was in fact. So I know it goes deeper than needed for most coins.

I've also tested it with silver coins and quarters and stuff on the the surface to see where it was hitting, the sound, make sure it was picking them up etc., and it did, so it seems like it works fine....but no coins...nada...over 20 acres of land...1840's farmstead...and no coins??!! Looked immediately around the house in the yard, front, back, side, by large old trees, by the old outhouse, places like that. What am I doing wrong? I mean, there has to be SOME coins on such in inordinately old farmstead, right? Pretty sure no one else has detected it considering the property and what I've been finding. Any thoughts/tips?

Upvote 0

Rogue Relic Hunter

Oct 3, 2016
Virginia Colony
Detector(s) used
DETECTORS: XP Deus WS-4, Garrett AT Pro and Pro-Pointer, Fisher CZ-5
TOOLS: Piranha shovel & R85 Military digger, both by Predator Tools
ATTIRE: Red Head brand Knee-High Waterproof Snake Boots
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting