Moonlight and Magnolias
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Fisher F75, Whites DualField PI, Fisher 1266-X and Tesoro Silver uMax
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello All,

I did some thinking recently, and I was looking back on that first year, 15 years ago, when I was a newbie taking my first swings. I was also thinking about some other newbies I've helped along in the past decade. It seems that many of us experienced a gradual increase in the number, value, and age of our finds as we learned our detectors. Then we usually get to a plateau where we're making good finds and hunting often. It seems that frequently what follows is a decline in finds for a while. I think this decline can be due to certain factors, like the "newness" of the hobby fading (if the addiction hasn't taken root), but I think a big factor in this decline is that as newbies we frequently lean on friends, relatives, family, and other vets of the hobby to assist us in finding places to hunt, securing permission, etc. It seems that these opportunities are gradually exhausted over time, unless we relocate, change jobs, etc. At this point, the quality and quantity of our finds could start to decline. This is the point at which we see posts from frustrated detectorists on this website proclaiming that there is "no place to hunt" and "no silver coins left."