8 Reales 1882 Opinions Wanted! Legit or Fake???

E

el_gral

Hi everyone! First of all im a newbie at coin collecting and just getting into the hobby, I purchased a Mexican 8 Reales 1882 Silver Coin for about $23.00 and i was content with my purchase but recently ive been reading alot about all these scams, frauds, & fake coins. Which frankly has made me a little worried about my coin so I would greatly appreciate it if all you fellow coin collectors could take a look at the coin and give me your opinions. I know theres only so much you can tell from a picture but nevertheless i would like to know your thoughts.

Also i have read that a surefire way of determining wheter one of these coins is a fake is by finding out the weight of the coin, is this true? And what should this coin weigh?

Thank You very much, and thanks for taking a look at this coin.

Attachments

• front natural.JPG
    front natural.JPG
    53 KB · Views: 2,070
  • back natural.JPG
    back natural.JPG
    49.5 KB · Views: 1,620
  • rimm.JPG
    rimm.JPG
    14.5 KB · Views: 1,314
  • rimm2.JPG
    rimm2.JPG
    14.2 KB · Views: 1,023

diggummup

Gold Member
Jul 15, 2004
Somewhere in the woods
Detector(s) used
Whites M6
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm no expert but it looks real.That particular coin was not rare, so I wouldn't think it would be counterfeited for that reason,the value is about right I would think.They did make "replicas" though.If you have a loupe or a magnifying glass,take a look on the reverse between the eagles wing and Mexicana,if it is a "replica" coin,you may see remnants of the word "copy" or filing or buff marks from it being removed.Also, it should weigh very close to 27.468 grams I believe.I hope it's a real reale,if not at least you didn't lose that much for a lesson learned.Good luck.Here's a photo of a real one with counterstamps.

Attachments

• 1882 peso obv..jpg
    1882 peso obv..jpg
    33.1 KB · Views: 1,813
  • 1882 peso rev..jpg