A Newbie on Board

sparkydog

Sep 28, 2008
Boulder Colorado
Detector(s) used
Whites: Surf, Eagle II SL, GMT.
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
I just found this site today and joined immediately. I'm psyched to have found it! I have used "L" rods for years to find pipes and wires. I am an electrician and this was all I ever thought to use them for. For years I have watched the gold prospector show and have also used a metal detector to hunt coins and relics locally.
Always thought when I retired, I'd go panning or detecting or even dredging for gold. At a Gold Prospectors' show in Primm Nev. I met Bill Morgan of BMI metal detectors and bought a simple "buzzer box" and a pair of matched rods. I can't begin to relate how amazing this all is to me. People hide a gold coin in a huge field and I get a "line" right to it...made a lot of believers with this setup.
I've completed my retirement papers this weekend and along with a like-minded friend I look forward to going to AZ. this winter and dowsing/shooting nuggets. I live in Pennsylvania, if any of you are local please contact me. I'm dying to learn all I can...I've found my retirement hobby!

OP
OP
sparkydog

sparkydog

Sep 28, 2008
Boulder Colorado
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Oops, my bad. I made an honest mistake there and won't repeat it. If I have experiences I want to relate I will just not mention anything electronic even if it figures into the story. I have seen the pissing matches that ensue when someone challenges the effectiveness of costly electronic locator's and would not wish to be banned or start an argument or problem. The little box I used is just a buzzer and a battery that can be made for $10 or less and is interesting to experiment with. I don't make 'em, sell 'em or have anything to do with them.