Answer another newbie question please.

OwenT

Feb 11, 2015
Moses Lake WA & Provo UT
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Not a complete newbie anymore but still can use help. Got out to the river this week an spent like 4 hours sampling around, it was looking pretty good. I decided on a spot, set up the bazooka and started feeding it. My sample came from about 8" below the surface of a dry channel of the river. When I cleaned out 2 hours later I got much less gold than anticipated. I think the gold was near the surface (in an iron sands layer?) and I dug past it, 2 or 3 feet down. Should I be trying to find where that gold up top is or will there be good gold further down and I should keep digging?

Upvote 0

KevinInColorado

Gold Member
Jan 9, 2012
Summit County, Colorado
Detector(s) used
Grizzly Goldtrap Explorer & Motherlode, Gold Cube with trommel or Banker on top, Angus Mackirk Expedition, Gold-n-Sand Xtream Hand pump
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
It depends. Really. Sampling is the only way to know. It certainly CAN be true that the best gold is closer to the surface.

ratled

Feb 18, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
It depends. Really. Sampling is the only way to know. It certainly CAN be true that the best gold is closer to the surface.

^^^This^^^^

You can always, and should, do a quick pan as you go down. Color change? Do a pan, not seeing the gold anymore/as much? Do a pan. Not sure if you are still in it? Do a pan......... I'll even do this when working in the water. It's easy to grab a pans worth and come up

ratled

KevinInColorado

Gold Member
Jan 9, 2012
Summit County, Colorado
Detector(s) used
Grizzly Goldtrap Explorer & Motherlode, Gold Cube with trommel or Banker on top, Angus Mackirk Expedition, Gold-n-Sand Xtream Hand pump
Primary Interest:
Prospecting