Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting

Treasure_Hunter

Administrator
Staff member
Jul 27, 2006
Florida
Detector(s) used
Minelab_Equinox_ 800 Minelab_CTX-3030 Minelab_Excal_1000 Minelab_Sovereign_GT Minelab_Safari Minelab_ETrac Whites_Beach_Hunter_ID Fisher_1235_X
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have traced mine to to 1300s, 99.8% of my DNA comes from Ireland, England and Wales. Turns out I am related to King John, you know the bad king in Robin Hood lore.

fyrffytr1

Gold Member
Mar 5, 2010
Southwest Georgia
Detector(s) used
XP Deus, White's DFX
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have been working on mine for a few years now. Had the DNA test done and , no big surprise, mostly German, English and a little Norwegian.
I used Ancestry.com for the test but I use familysearch.org for my searching. It's a free site and is very comprehensive. They even e-mail me with new links and hints to my family tree.

Mackaydon

Gold Member
Oct 26, 2004
N. San Diego Pic of my 2 best 'finds'; son & g/son
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Minelab Explorer
Primary Interest:
Shipwrecks
Years ago I planned a trip to the Highlands of Scotland to research through parish record for my genealogy. After getting back home from the trip with all the information, I was told the Mormon Church Genealogical Library (located four miles from my home) already had copied the records and were available to me most any day. A very embarrassing moment, but a great trip anyway.
Don..

ToddsPoint

Gold Member
Mar 2, 2018
Todds Point, IL
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
My mom was adopted and knew little about her real family. Mom took the Ancestry test and boom! Instant family. A new found cousin has all the family info going back to the revolutionary war. My great great grandfather fought in the cornfield at Antietam with the 27th IN infantry and was wounded. Brother killed. I hit the jackpot with information I never knew.

DeepseekerADS

Gold Member
Mar 3, 2013
SW, VA - Bull Mountain