Ask for permission

Nomadnailer

Apr 6, 2011
Montrose, WV
Detector(s) used
Whites V3i with dx-1 sunray probe, Whites xlt, Tesoro lobo st,
I have been passing a piece of property for 30 years and always wondered, but everyone always said that I would never get permission because it's tied up in the family they never thought to go to the one running the show. Well I finally asked and found a 1943 silver nickle, 1900 barber dime, a gold signet ring and some old ivory soap tokens and I'm just starting that's about 2 hours work. I guess it pays to ask

Upvote 19
hey the worst they can say is no!

nice work getting permission!

Sweet ! Sometimes, with those old abandoned properties, there never seems to be anyone TO ask, huh? Coupla times, I put on a hardhat and orange vest and went and did it anyway........don't tell anyone.

Sweet ! Sometimes, with those old abandoned properties, there never seems to be anyone TO ask, huh? Coupla times, I put on a hardhat and orange vest and went and did it anyway........don't tell anyone.

You're joking or are you just saying that to Pi** folks off?

If you do it well you really put the whole hobby in a bad light, detecting without permission is just wrong, it's the way I see it

Last edited:
Rut roh, it's gonna get ugly in here, Im gonna go get my popcorn lol

People at work call me the spoon because I stir the sh*t pot. That said...

Some say it's better to beg for forgiveness then to ask for permission....or wait, that's with our wives...

Lol. I'm bettin' this thread goes on for a while!

Really? Why is it that people can't just be honest and do things right? One thing I can't stand is sneaky people. Another thing I really can't stand is people that do dumb sh*t and ruin it for the ones that do it right. I told myself I wasn't going to respond to this. I believe I lied to myself