Batteries!!!!!

rmkayak

Dec 6, 2005
Prosperity, SC
I am new at this incredible hobby and am wondering why no one talks about batteries?

I need 2 9v for my MD and 1 9v for my pinpointer. At 5 bucks for 2, YIKES!!! (and that's at my local mom and pop store)

My manual states NOT to use rechargeable batteries, however, I did. They don't last forever, however, I can just recharge them.

What do you all do?

Do you have favorite chargers and batteries. What about the lithium rechargeable batteries?

HELP!!!!!

Renee

Upvote 0
R

rvbvetter

I use double AA and 9 volt rechargables on mine and they work great. But get the nickel hybrid ones. They don't develope a memory like the other rechargeable ones. HH

mvSWAT

Sep 21, 2004
Mt. Vernon, Indiana
I posted about batteries a while back. I get the best results out of the cheapest batteries. I use the Dollar Store alkaline batteries (Panasonic or DG Brand) 9V costs $1.50 each, I buy AA's at 24 for $5. They've outlasted Eveready and Duracell every time.
Happy Hunting. Dan

bk

Bronze Member
Jan 19, 2005
SE Minnesota
Detector(s) used
Minelab Explorer SE pro, Minelab Explorer XS, Garrett Freedom II (3), Garrett pro-pointer.
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Some of the older Ni cad batteries would develop a "memory" if not completely discharged. What I did was completely discharge them by putting them in a flashlight, or something that will discharge them quickly, and left it on until the batteries were dead, then recharged them.
I don't know if the newer Nickel Hydride batteries are the same way or not.
I just use alkaline batteries my detectors, and they hold up very well.
Make sure you're using headphones. If you don't, you will shorten your battery life.

beeper

Sep 23, 2005
California