Best Minelab for Beach and Wet Sand Detecting

spdrus

Aug 25, 2010
Hi All,

I am new to these forums (been reading and learning a lot thanks to all your valuable insights!)

Anyway, I am going to be purchasing my first metal detector and *think* I have it narrowed down to one of the following Minelabs: Xterra 705, Sovereign Elite, or Excalibur II. I don't want this to be another 'what is the best metal detector' post so I'll try to be very specific with my wants/needs.

1) I am new to metal detecting so I want a detector that's easy to learn, but not a simple or 'beginner' machine
2) 80% or more of my time will be detecting at New Jersey beaches so I want a detector that is excellent in dry sand, wet sand (probably spend most of my time in wet sand), and shallow surf (waterproof coils are a must!) up to about 1-2 feet deep (max). I cannot dive due to health issues so I DO NOT need an entirely waterproof detector.
3) Occasionally I will park/forest/field hunt so I want a machine that is capable there, as well
4) I know many of you have a 'two detector' or more solution BUT I can only get ONE DETECTOR
5) I will rarely/never prospect for gold (although want a machine that is VERY capable on gold jewelry)
6) I like the idea of an LCD display, but I also have a very good ear (from music training all my life) and probably would be able to differentiate many different tones after a little practice

From my own research I was almost 100% set on the Xterra 705 - seems to be an excellent all-around machine with a lot of great features, waterproof coils, beach mode etc. BUT then I started reading a lot of posts that make me wonder how it will do in the wet sand/shallow surf. Then I read that the Soveriegn is THE machine for this type of environment. However, it seems to me that the 705 may be close to the Sovereign in the beach/wet sand if employing some of the other coils available (besides the stock 9 in. concentric) - this last point is just my own assumption.