Burning moss

tyeechinook

Sep 3, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
So the area I've been working for the last 3 years, has a ton of moss on the bedrock and boulders. I decided this last time out to also take a bunch of moss home to process. I washed the moss first, low and behold, gold!! As much, if not better than digging and working my butt off. Then I heard to burn the moss to ashes and pan it. So I did, low and behold!! More gold!! I burned it in a few batches and was getting a consistent amount of gold. Last batch had a piece of lead in it and as I burned it, the lead melted into many little small lead pieces, very little gold. My question is, do you think the gold is inside of the lead pieces? Should I save them? Is there a way to get the gold out of it? Thanks in advance for any info!!! And heavy pans to all!!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Upvote 0

ClaimStake

Jul 27, 2015
Oroville CA
Detector(s) used
Gold Bug 2 (sold it)
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
around here the old miners would take the turquoise moss off the trees and line the bottom of their long toms with it. than burn it after.

environut friendly.

arizau

Bronze Member
May 2, 2014
AZ
Detector(s) used
Beach High Banker, Sweep Jig, Whippet Dry Washer, Lobo ST, 1/2 width 2 tray Gold Cube, numerous pans, rocker box, and home made fluid bed and stream sluices.
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Not in the lead but the moss is a natural to catch gold and I have heard that the guides on Rogue river rafting/jet boat trips demo this for their clients. Also read on the GPEX forum that it is illegal some places in Canada (natives excepted if I remember right) and may be the same here in the U.S.

Last edited:

IMAUDIGGER

Silver Member
Mar 16, 2016
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
In many areas, removing moss and grass clumps from the river banks is considered damaging the environment.
Both are great gold traps.

jere64ca

Jul 16, 2016
San Luis Obispo, CA.
Detector(s) used
GB Pro