detecting for a living?

bergie

Bronze Member
Aug 2, 2004
Is there anyone here who makes a living detecting or knows of anyone who does? I don't mean creating events or owning a related shop or anything but actually detecting as the full time means of income. Also would limit my definition to an individual, not part of a company searching for major treasure, etc. Curious to know. Thanks.

Upvote 0
With the stuff I've found, I'd be living on Ramen noodles. :D I've thought about doing it myself...which would probably be easier for me than someone who has a family, and a secure job, etc. I'm just a single college student, who loves adventure and metal detecting! Hey, why not? Maybe I'll try it for a while...

michael

P.S.--I don't know anyone who fits your description right now.

Thanks. I'm curious if it's feasible. It's not something I'm considering however. My full time job is flexible and secure enough to give me time I need to hunt for fun. I gather someone who did this would have to travel somewhat extensively at least within a region and perhaps travel to specific locations based on research to find enough stuff. They might need to go after gold nuggets, etc. and "think big" in terms of some of the things we've read about dredging where you could find hundreds of dollars or more at a time and perhaps withing that find more valuable items.

Simply put, I wish I could find a way to make it profitable enough to be a primary source of income. I think a person would have to find a substantial gold cache or have exclusive access to a well used upscale private beach. I have heard stories of people who water detect tourist beaches and are able to live on the coin and jewelry findings but have never met anyone who fit the bill. It certainly would be a dream come true, wouldn't it? HH.