Digging - need major help

Ladybuggy

Sep 10, 2010
So, I'm new to the hobby and need major help with my digging. The main locations are in the woods and house lawns. I currently use a medium sized metal shovel, a smaller tool (garden size) that has sharp edges. I generally use the med. shovel and make a circle, pop the plug out and place it on a towel. The towel's purpose is to help keep the lawn clean and also helpful in finding the target. So my holes look ridiculous when I'm done, is this just because the dirt is so dry or is it me?

So what kind of tools should I be using & how should I dig? Suggestions? I really don' want to break or scratch anything exciting.

Chug And Red

Gold Member
Feb 18, 2010
Vancouver WA
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Chug)Whites Classic 5 ID, (Red Whites Coin master Pro)

Chug and Reds New Additions

Give It Up>> Garrett's AT Pro
Buttercup>> Garrett's Ace 250
Show Me the Money>> Garrets Ace 400
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Darn I'm the first!!!! Circles are very bad!!! You need to cut a U shaped plug! and flip it over then USE A PINPOINTER! a hand held detector to help locate the item!!! If the ground is really dry you might want to think about coming back after a few good rain showers!! the U shaped plug allows some roots to survive the digging and the grass wont die out!!!!! I'm sure you will get more helpful comments!!! Chug Try parks that are watered regularly until you get comfortable with it !!!! sand is a great learning area also!!!!

sniffer

Gold Member
Dec 31, 2006
Kansas
Detector(s) used
XP DEUS
you also might want to check into buying a Lesche digger, it's smaller than your shovel and leaves smaller holes.
the towel is a good idea to keep it looking clean. good luck

zerojinx

Dec 6, 2010
Republic of Texas
Detector(s) used
working on that