Excal gold chains question? Link w/ pics added

Lookn4Seated

Bronze Member
Mar 20, 2008
Detector(s) used
Deep Silver Seeker 3000
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
It's my first year out with the Excal II, and to say the least, I love this machine. Being out only 5 times for a total of 20 hrs, I have found 2 gold rings, 2 gold earings, a silver bracelet, silver earing with a Swarovsky crystal, and a surgical steel earing with a 2.5ct pink saphire, + a ton of clad and junk earings.

But my question here is about gold chains.

Will they give off a tone like an earing or small gold ring would give off, or will it just blip and null like a junk earing or bobby pin? The reason I ask is that I don't see many gold chains posted, and I know that they have to be out there!

Is there a secret to finding them? Any advice or opinions greatly appreciated. Thanks - L4S
UPDATE
Link to the Illinois Forum with the pics of my finds so far.
http://forum.treasurenet.com/index.php/topic,336151.0.html

Upvote 0

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Many can't show any gold chains found with the Excal because unless the detector goes off on the pendant or clasp, it just might give a scratchy tone. Something you'd pass over. Check it out with a couple chains, with and without pendants.

I've had guys tell me I was all wet because their Excal found a gold chain, but I don't know if it had a coin near it or pendant or how big the chain was. Plus not all Excals are created equal. Mine can find earring backs.

Attachments

• Earring studs & Backs1.jpg
    Earring studs & Backs1.jpg
    47.8 KB · Views: 579
OP
OP
Lookn4Seated

Lookn4Seated

Bronze Member
Mar 20, 2008
Detector(s) used
Deep Silver Seeker 3000
Primary Interest: