Hard to find Honey Pot

goldndime

Apr 14, 2008
Cottage Grove, Oregon
Detector(s) used
A. H. Pro backpacker, 17000 Minelab
I'm a newbie to this site but just had to brag a little. Having been in this hobby for about 40 years I should tell you a little about myself. I have been a professional gold dredger for the last 14 years in northern California which had its lean and fat times. Not liking the weather down there I bought a place in Oregon last year. Which gave me a new lawn to hunt. Dragging the old A. H. Pro out of retirement I scanned the yard. Nothing. After some silly thoughts about using my 17000 minelab for a coin shooter I ran the yard again. Finding a kids twisted metal ring the hole still called to me. The next item in there was a little brass lock key, the hole still called to me and at 10" out popped a wheat.1956. I went to town and picked up batteries for the minelab and on the way home stopped a the old grange hall and hit the ball field. Right off the bat I found a penny at 8" and just knew it was a wheat nope 1996. What it was doing that deep I couldn't figure. After tonnes of nuts and bolts and scrap steel I hit a target that sounded good. Using my probe I probed in a 3" circle 7" deep. Nothing. After digging down about 10" I had still not found a thing. Giving up I moved under a couple of large trees thinking that during a game it would be a good place to be in the shade. Still more trash. All the while thinking about that hole that sounded so good but empty I went back to it. Digging about 4" deeper I hit something, a rock. Still sounding good I widened my hole thinking it was an off center hit. Still nothing. After a couple of hours of hard hunting and going back to that GOOD hole and digging deeper several times I tried once more. As soon as my arm was up to my shirtsleeve I hit something that sounded REAL good. I carfully started pulling dirt out of the hole and saw a flash. YOU KNOW THAT FLASH. The one that makes your heart pump overtime. Th