Hello! Newbie from FL

thedaddy

Aug 1, 2009
Central Florida
Detector(s) used
Minelab ExcalII 1000, Bounty Hunter 505 8/4
Hello all,
I'm in St. Cloud, South of Orlando. I'm new to MD'ing but love to treasure hunt. I have been diving Venice FL for years finding shark teeth and fossils and have always watched the MD/TH guys wishing I had a decent detector (bought a cheap Chinese model for $60 that didn't work well and broke down quickly). Well, this year is our 20th anniversary and I've saved up some money and as my anniversary present my wife told me to pick out the detector that I want. She thinks I've got early dementia, but I've never really cared if people think I'm nuts - I've always gotten weird looks coming out of the surf with a bag of 'rocks' but the Scouts and my kids' science teachers appreciate the fossils.

I'm still deciding and always looking for advice, but I have some ideas. I'm really looking forward to it and have been reading the forums for a long time to learn and get tips. We spend a lot of time at the beach and I'm excited to finally be able to do some hunting rather than just watching.

Thanks for all the info so far!

Goodyguy

Gold Member
Mar 10, 2007
Arizona
Detector(s) used
Whites TM 808, Whites GMT, Tesoro Lobo Super Traq, Fisher Gold Bug 2, Suction Dredges, Trommels, Gold Vacs, High Bankers, Fluid bed Gold Traps, Rock Crushers, Sluices, Dry Washers, Miller Tables, Rp4
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Great to have you aboard :hello:

Looking forward to seeing your finds.
Good luck and Happy Hunting,

GG~

OP
OP
thedaddy

thedaddy

Aug 1, 2009
Central Florida
Detector(s) used
Thanks! I'm really excited. Lots to learn though.
I didn't see a 'newbie forum' is this forum (General Discussion) the best to post questions to? I see a lot of them here.

sniffer

Gold Member
Dec 31, 2006
Kansas
Detector(s) used
XP DEUS
as far as choosing a MD, check out one of your local MD clubs and talk to them and see what they use for machines