Hunters Beware!!

Trooper733

Apr 3, 2013
Eastern Oklahoma
Detector(s) used
Whites V3i,Whites DFX, Whites TRX, Garrett Pro Pointer
Primary Interest:
Other
My family and I went to a local river (North Canadian) yesterday to hunt for points after the river has finally started dropping. Temp was 98 degrees F. With a heat index of 112. I quit sweating and passed out and my wife saved me by doing CPR to get me breathing again. I spent 9 hours in the ER but finally got to come home last night. I also have two gashes above and below my left eye where my sunglasses cut me when I passed out. I say all this to remind everyone to be careful in the heat and stay hydrated, which was my biggest problem. Ill post some of our finds later, it's hard to type one eyed.

Upvote 0

kingskid1611

Gold Member
Feb 23, 2015
Oklahoma
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Sounds like you had fun up until that heat thing. I work in it everyday and I am almost tired of it. Hope you found some good ones.

EricTheCat

Oct 4, 2011
Southern Minnesota
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
That must have felt awful. I have had heat exhaustion a number of times but not full on heat stroke like you describe. I am glad you were with family and made it out of it okay.

It is real easy to overdo it in the heat. I have mentioned this before but I don't mind saying it again: When hunting in the heat drink lots of water and take occasional breaks in a cool area (even a short break in an air conditioned vehicle can help a lot).

old digger

Gold Member
Jan 15, 2012
Montana
Detector(s) used
White's MXT
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hope you get to feeling better! I am quite used to the dry heat, but you folks down south and back east have that humidity, which can be a killer. I always carry water with me plus extra in the vehicle.

McClod

Jun 14, 2013
Oregon
Detector(s) used
Minelab CTX 3030, Garrett Pro Pointer and Whites TRX Pin Pointer.
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting