I need help identifying if this a M1917 Helmet.

Doughboy

Greenie
Aug 6, 2020
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
s-l1600.jpg

s-l1600 (1).jpg

So I found this online, the only markings it has been said to have are the markings of ZE29. I'm new to the helmet world so I have no idea what that means.

Retired Sarge

Silver Member
Feb 22, 2009
Panama City Florida
Primary Interest:
Other
View attachment 1854491

View attachment 1854492

So I found this online, the only markings it has been said to have are the markings of ZE29. I'm new to the helmet world so I have no idea what that means.

It's a US made WWI helmet aka M1917 helmet, the ZE proves that. See below post, where I have a lot of Information on these helmets.

http://www.treasurenet.com/forums/militaria-arms/288546-m1917-helmet.html

The ZE29 is the heat stamp marking for that particular batch of helmets.

Known Heat-Stamp Markings of WWI American M1917 Helmets:
(This list is based on what I have actually seen, more heat stamps might be out there)

UC
W? ?
XH
YJ
ZA
ZB
ZC
ZD
ZE
ZF
ZG
ZH
ZJ
ZL ?
ZM ?
ZN

Oh and my apologies.....Welcome to the forums, if you find or aquire additional helmets let me know and I'll help you ID them. I have about 20 helmets in my collection.

Last edited:
Upvote 0
OP
OP
D

Doughboy

Greenie
Aug 6, 2020
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thank you very much. I haven't bought it yet, and the reason why because I didn't know if it was authentic. But since you have said the ZE proves it I think I will now. Thank you.

Upvote 0

Retired Sarge

Silver Member
Feb 22, 2009
Panama City Florida
Primary Interest:
Other
Thank you very much. I haven't bought it yet, and the reason why because I didn't know if it was authentic. But since you have said the ZE proves it I think I will now. Thank you.