Im a beginner and would like to buy my first detector

Beginner'sfindings

May 20, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm a beginner and would like to buy my first detector

I love metal detecting and learning the history of the people, sites, and artifacts. I am working with a "hammy down" which has been great, but I'm looking to buy my first detector. I would like the best bang for my buck out there. The family who got me into detecting all us White's MXT and TDI. I like those but have heard that there are better ones out there. I would also like to buy a water detector too. My price range is $1500 or less. Its a joint birthday, Christmas, and paycheck present. Any help is greatly appreciated! Thank you!

With bank like that you can do really well ! You can get something solid for half that I'd guess . There are a lot of makes/models
competing for your money, so take a little time - maybe you can test drive a few if you're near a good dealer !

I like my AT PRO it is the one use the most plus it's water proof. But look around and find the right one for you.

Being a relative new guy myself. I went with the ATpro. Awesome machine,easy learning curve.

Some free advise. don't get all caught up in the most powerful,deepest, ,most custom setting blah blah. I did I got very, very frustrated and almost gave up on the whole thing! I had a Whites V3i,Fisher f-75,Minelab Etracs. I got rid of all the noted machines. I ended up sticking with the ATpro.

Get a good solid machine from a main brand manufacturer. The learn the machine. Most all new machines will find good stuff. You will be better served to spend your energy/time reading ,and studying old maps. One of my best finds 1853 LG cent came under the coil of a Fisher F-2. But I read about the property in the local library. It was old open air market, now just farm fields. But you can see any machine would have found the old coin.