Rock22

Sep 9, 2013
Erie Pennsylvania
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Tejon
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Isn't ALL land privately owned?

I am new to this hobby but I only hunt my property so far. If I wander off into the woods am I not on someone's property? If so I am a bit nervous about digging on it and finding stuff. There is no way that everyone goes looking for the landowner and gets permission so what do you guys do when you get the itch to just wander around a woods? I am ready to venture out but need some pointers.

Thanks, Bill

I am new to this hobby but I only hunt my property so far. If I wander off into the woods am I not on someone's property? If so I am a bit nervous about digging on it and finding stuff. There is no way that everyone goes looking for the landowner and gets permission so what do you guys do when you get the itch to just wander around a woods? I am ready to venture out but need some pointers.

Thanks, Bill

Bill, when you say: " .... if I wander into the woods ...." is that to assume that you've already, in the past (or presently) have "walked in the woods" ? If so, and if it was (as you fear) "private property", then ..... you have already been there, it would seem. The mere "walking" there, is already, if you want to get technical, on someone's property.

If you're that worried that md'ing (as opposed to merely walking) in the woods is somehow in an evil different category, you are welcome to track down owners, and ask their permission. You can go to the assessor's office in your county, and all such land-ownership maps and records are public info. Sometimes though, it only has a p.o. box of an owner, not phone #'s or personal names (eg.: you might end up with a company name, or conservatorship, or LLC, or something wierd). And if you start sending cold-call letters to such an address, you can bet how far that will go.