local prices for aluminum cans?

alchemyst

Tenderfoot
Feb 4, 2014
Detector(s) used
still looking to buy one :)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi all, I'm a newbie to these forums and interested in MANY of the topics here. Just started collecting aluminum cans and contacted a couple local scrapyards. One quoted $0.40 per pound, and the other said $0.48 per pound. I know it won't make me rich but I figure if a can is worth 1-2 cents, well, I'd pick up 1-2 cents everytime I saw it lying around. :)

What are you guys getting for cans nowadays? We have no can deposit here.

(I'm entertaining the thought of collecting other scrap metals... you know, the thrill of the hunt!)

Bassmaster96

Bronze Member
Feb 5, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am getting about 48 cents a pound for cans right now. That is normally where they are at for me, sometimes 50 cents, sometimes 45 cents. I would definitely get into the other scrap metals if you are not already. I would start with aluminum, copper, and brass mainly, as well as steel. You may even want to try escrap. It is pretty interesting to get into and can make you some good side money. Look for old computers to scrap, because they have the boards, cpus, memory, as well as aluminum in the heat sinks, copper in the wires (watch out because some are aluminum) and steel or aluminum in the casing. Good luck! :icon_thumright:

OP
OP
A

alchemyst

Tenderfoot
Feb 4, 2014
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thanks Bassmaster96! I am just starting out but already interested in scrapping lots more than aluminum cans. I've only read a small bit about harvesting copper from old TVs and other electronics. The part about capacitors holding a charge scared me a bit. I don't even like getting mild shocks in the wintertime. haha But I just found a website that has detailed steps for taking apart various items and what to look for so I'm tempted to give it a go. :)

Bassmaster96

Bronze Member
Feb 5, 2014