Looking for a detector for Gold huntin

Snocrash

Tenderfoot
May 6, 2014
Detector(s) used
ON order Gold Bug Pro.. T-minus a few days
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Well I was posting on metal detecting looking for a machine. ..

here's that link
http://www.treasurenet.com/forums/metal-detecting/414121-metal-detector-confusion.html

I wanted to spend approx 1500 i can spend more but as a newbie i just thought it unwise. , Been trying to pan now for a bit fun, haven't found anything but planning a trip deeper up stream once it melts and begins to run more , as chipping thru ice to stand in a whole to get river gravel is bloody cold. My whole problem is falling into the water as im sure it will happen and boom detector gone.. so i have been looking at the
AT gold , been told to look at Garrett's ATX .. I do live in northern Manitoba and was told by member 63bkpkr to maybe post over here as a couple Canadians may know more what i should be looking at, and will know what its like in back country Canada.
I currently have been looking at four steams there my targets at moment once spring thaw finally melt the stuff up there.. i primarily am planning on panning , but was hoping to add the metal detector to look in the water as i climb up the hills and streams ... i thought it could hurt... and also the easiest way in some these places is straight up the creek as bush very dense no one around for 100km sometimes more depending which way outta town i go..
To the north on some the lake systems i know of some streams and other hard to get places and one or two old abandoned gold mine.. Talking with MB resources .. the sites i mentioned to them were already reclaimed so long as no machinery .. said hammer away with a hammer an chisel on tailings and don't use any chemicals.. and stay clear of sealed shafts or open ones; panning and metal detecting go for it they said. also those sites are Canadian shield country and i do see lots of iron in the rocks laying around. ..