Minelab GPX 5000 in Northern California

Shastasage

Tenderfoot
Sep 4, 2011
Hello,

I am fairly new to N. California ( Mt. Shasta Area ) and want to do some local gold panning and metal detecting.

I am considering the Minelab GPX 5000. But recently i was talking to an guy who was very knowledgable about the area gold and he
said he thought the Minelab wouldn't work well in the area because it is so mineralized.
Thoughts?

Also they have come out with quite a few detectors in a short period of time. It seems like the 5000 has been out for at least a year.
I worry about spending all that money and next month Minelab comes out with the 5500 that out dates the 5000.
Any thoughts about if my paranoia is accurate?

Years ago i talked to a gentleman who is known in the gold mining community...he had three different Minelab models at the time.
He said he doesn't care what the price is or if they come out with a new one as he makes the cost of the detector back so fast with these machines
that i shouldn't worry about it. Do you beleive this holds true today?

Lastly...i am in California but don't want to pay the $500 sales tax on this baby. Any recommendations on who i might buy from?
Ebay has some really nice combo packs...and some mining stores have some free stuff with FREE lessons.
Any thoughts on this or any of my questions would be well appreciated!

Shastasage

PS am i correct in thinking i can also use this machine for coins and relics and beach combing?

Upvote 0

Woodland Detectors

Gold Member
Nov 23, 2008
Toll Free ~ 855~966~3563
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
You wont be sorry going with either the GPX 4800 or the 5000 if Gold searching is your objective. I have yet to have any problems with either machine in any high mineralized soil around the country. There people I know who bought these machines from me, that have paid for their machine in gold finds in 1 week. If you need any info, feel free to call us toll free at

855-966-3563
Mike