My very FIRST discoveries... Prepare to be underwhelmed!

ce550av8r

Feb 16, 2013
Elmira/Corning area, NY
Detector(s) used
Teknetics Alpha 2000, Garrett ProPointer, Garrett headphones, Lesche Digger
So I'm a total newbie. Been interested in MD and amateur archaeology since I was about 10 and my best friend and I discovered an old farm trash dump in the woods behind our houses. We dug mostly intact, mostly cork or rubber stopper bottles of all shapes, sizes and colors from beneath a lot of discarded field rocks and several inches of dirt. Medicines, liniments, balms, you name it. We had so much fun and thought we would be filthy rich with those treasures... WELL, 30 years later I finally got the metal detector and equipment to start exploring again and since we are still in a deep freeze in Upstate NY I brought my gear with me down to FL on a trip I just flew. I fly charter jets for a living so I get to visit lots of different areas, another reason I thought it'd be a good hobby for me - I can bring it along with me without much hassle. Anyhow, I FINALLY had the chance to try out my gear and practice technique for pinpointing and digging. Saturdays in the Spring in South Florida are apparently not great times to hit the beach for hunting... Holy crowds. I'll admit a late start today when my copilot asked if he could tag along. I didn't even try to hunt it was SO crowded. Talk about a letdown! We headed from spot to spot to see if there was any quiet strip of beach to play with but struck out. On our way to get lunch we were passing a small boat launch/park that had no beach - but looked very quiet so I decided to try it out for learning purposes. I geared up and went at it. I'm sure the place was loaded with trash because there were picnic tables set up and some visible trash on the surface. I cleaned up the area I was going to play in and immediately had hits in the iron, aluminum, nickel, quarter and dime scales. I worked on pinpointing with the X and my first hole