Need help with new find

unitas

Feb 24, 2008
Northern Ohio
Hello all,
I was hunting indian artifacts this evening when I found an old butt plate to a gun.
I'm no expert but my recent experiences tell me it's old. It is brass and features some
pretty nice engraving on it's underside. If anyone has any information on it I'd
love to hear from you. Thanks in advance, Unitas

butt plate 005 (824 x 618).jpg

butt plate 003 (824 x 618).jpg

butt plate 004 (824 x 618).jpg

butt plate 006 (824 x 618).jpg

Upvote 0
I just looked in my gun part bible (The Missouri Archaeologist Vol.22,Dec. 1960) and found that square holed butt plates were secured with nails (that's why they were square) prior to 1826. After that, the plates were secured with screws (round holes) The only picture available of the round-holed type came from the excavation of Ft. Pierre 2 (1863-1865) which the plates used 4 screws in the butt and 1 in the tang. (5 screws total) Another plate from this site had 2 screws on the butt and 1 on the tang. When looking at another book (Early Indian Trade Guns: 1625-1775, T.M. Hamilton) round screw holes appeared on a gun from 1730-1760 (french) but there is only 1 screw on the butt and 1 on the tang(2 screws total) and the decoration on the tang was much more primitive or crude.
Hope this helps.
Dave.

OP
OP
unitas

unitas

Feb 24, 2008
Northern Ohio
Muddyhandz, Thanks for your input. I was hoping what I had was old,therefore good. I wasn't too surprised to find it. I found it in an area that has produced countless musket balls, gun flints and even a trade bead. I was able to find some gun parts earlier this year with my hunting partners and I think the experience has widened my eyes to identify artifacts other than Native American. In the past I wouldn't of picked up a "scrap of metal".Now I see the history I was passing by and really appreciate such finds., unitas

sharpshooter

May 3, 2007
Central Oklahoma
Detector(s) used
Minelab E-Trac
Primary Interest: