Kiros32

Bronze Member
Feb 21, 2006
Pittsburgh, PA
Detector(s) used
XP Deus, Whites MXT
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
There is an house abandoned house that I have been drooling over for 2 years now. A couple of months ago I did some research and I was able to trace the deed back to at least 1804. The foundation is still in great shape, there is the remnants of an old barn, and behind the house there is still a servant's quarters. The problem is, I have not obtained permission, however, the owner of the property lives mile away. I know I know, always seek permission first, however, I was itching to get out and only went to the hug field that was in front of the house. The grass was at least 2 feet high so it was very difficult to swing. I found several modern shells, mostly 30/30, one .22, and one large caliber rifle, not sure what it is. I also managed my oldest wheat and oldest found coin so far. When I found it, I knew it was a penny and I was hoping it was my first Indian Head. It was in really bad shape, but I could see the 'erty' next to the profile, so I knew it was a Lincoln. I got it home and tried electrolysis, which I haven't used in months. Well, it worked wonders. It cleared all of the crap off and I was able to read the date: 1914. Now I know for you long-time treasure hunters, this is obsolete, however, it is my best coin so far. I forgot to take before pictures, however, I will definitely be sure to post the finished product. Hopefully I will be able to gain permission from the property owner and dig up some more keepers.

Upvote 0

goldencoin

Gold Member
Sep 27, 2005
Indiana
Detector(s) used
Whites DFX & Beach Hunter ID
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Don't feel bad....the person probably doesn't care and if you can't reach 'em them,then they certainly don't care. I went to an abandoned house one and i found a silver neckless.

packerbacker

Gold Member
May 11, 2005
Northern California
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting