New to the Forum/Have Questions

Johnnysan

Jan 3, 2009
Detector(s) used
Whites Classic 5-ID / Garrett Ace 250
This is one interesting site!
As this is my first day here, I have lots of questions, but I didn't see any heading that said 'Damn-fool questions from newbies', so I posted here. (Moderators can move this post if necessary) I've been thinking about metal detecting for a while, so here goes:
Equipment: What are some quality metal detectors. I've heard Whites, Garrett, Tesoro and Fisher are good. Any others I should consider? I will be looking for coins and meteorites. Are any made in America?
Price: Most detector for the buck? What should I expect to pay?
Used equipment? Am I asking for trouble in buying used? I'm a technician, but have no experience in fixing metal locators. Are they 'factory repairable' only? Do manufacturers sell parts/service information?
Accessories? What do you consider essential to take along on the hunt?
Buying: Do you get your metal dectectors locally (hobby shops, sporting good stores) or mail order?
Thanks in advance for your replies and any other advice. John.

SHERMANVILLE ILLINOIS

Gold Member
May 22, 2005
Primary Interest:
Other
Johnnysan,

that is one bunch of a question. ;D :wink:

Let the answers begin...............
Read the past posts on this forum.

- you named the major ones, try staying with them.
( ;D a few folks use Minelab detectors :wink:)
- Garrett is made in the USA.
- Price is what you want to pay. Don't sell everything you
own; get the best you can afford.
- Repairs best left for factory
- Tesoro lifetime guarantee
- Other equipment needed for the hunt ;D, whatever
you can carry and feel comfortable. :D
- Nice if you have a shop around that sells them, but,
much done by mail order.
- Check if ther is any type of Club in your area; excellent
place for informantion for getting into the hobby.
- Go back over old post here and you will find
all your answers and then have 10,000 more